L’importance D’être Hermione: In Which I Refuse to Abandon my Childhood Hero

“Are you taking your Hermione wand to college?” my sister asked as she helped me pack up my childhood bedroom into a Rubbermaid box. It wasn’t a difficult question. When many of my peers grew up wanting to be Barbie, Cinderella, or Hannah Montana I wanted to be Hermione. She was unlike any girl I had ever read about. She does not fit popular culture’s beauty standards. She smashes the stereotypes assigned to girls in the real world and muggle-born people in her world and became the top of her class. She is also a loyal friend and an activist. She never dumbs herself down so boys will like her. Unlike most female sidekicks in hero stories, Hermione usually knows information without which the group’s missions would collapse. In Hermione I saw that being a brainiac can be cooler and more rewarding than being a princess or a pop star.

I purchased the wand at a time when emulating Hermione was more vital than ever before: Christmas vacation in my junior year of high school. I had survived half of my first year in the IB Diploma Programme but the future looked intimidating: difficult schoolwork, the ACT, Internal Assessments, college applications, more Internal Assessments, scholarship applications, IB exams, graduation. Through this academic insanity it was important to stay true to my friends and my values. Today I can say that being like Hermione worked for me because have an IB Diploma, a group of loyal friends who will always catch each other when we fall, a passion for the life I live, and a spot at the University of Michigan waiting for me in four days.

Now Hermione and I are both grown up. Many people abandon their childhood heroes in favor of more “mature” ones when this happens, but I won’t forget mine. Needless to say, the wand is coming with me to college.

“Vas-tu apporter ta baguette d’Hermione à l’université?” ma sœur me demandait pendant elle m’aidait emballer ma chambre enfantine dans une boîte Rubbermaid. Ce n’était pas un question difficile. Quand beaucoup de mes pairs ont grandi vouloir d’être Barbie, Cinderella, ou Hannah Montana, je voulais d’être Hermione. Elle n’est pas comme toutes les autres filles au sujet de qui j’ai lu. Elle ne conforme pas aux critères pour la beauté de la culture populaire. Elle fracassait les stéréotypes assignait pour les filles dans notre monde et les personnes nées muggles dans son monde et devinait la première dans sa classe. Elle est aussi une amie fidèle et une activiste.  Elle ne se fait jamais stupide pour faire les garçons l’aimer. Contrairement les autres acolytes femmes dans les histoires des héros, elle souvent connait l’information sans lequel les missions du groupe s’effondreraient. Dans Hermione je voyais que d’être une surdouée peut être plus chouette et plus utile que d’être une princesse ou une pop star.

J’ai acheté la baguette à une fois quand émuler Hemione était plus vital qu’avant. Je survivais demi de ma première année de la Programme du Dipplome BI mais l’avenir semblait intimidant: le travail difficile à l’école, l’examen ACT, les évaluations intérieurs, les applications pour les universités, plus des évaluations intérieurs, les applications pour les bourses, les examens BI, faire du dipplome. A travers de l’insanité académique c’était important d’être fidèle aux amis et aux principaux. Aujourd’hui je peux dire que d’être comme Hermione me fait bien car j’ai un dipplome BI, un groupe des amis qui se rattrapent l’un l’autre quand nous tombons, et un lieu à l’université du Michigan qui attend pour moi pour quatre jours plus.

Maintenant Hermione et moi sont deux les adultes. Beaucoup de personnes abandonnent leurs héros enfantine pour les héros plus “mature” quand ça se passe, mais je n’oublierai pas mon propre. Inutile de dire, la baguette viendra avec moi à l’université.

 

2 thoughts on “L’importance D’être Hermione: In Which I Refuse to Abandon my Childhood Hero

  1. Just got back from america’s high five. Must say, being that it had been quite awhile since I’ve been home, that I was happy to stay in the woods for most of my visit. Congratulations are in order, so kudos to you and good luck. And yes I would definitely take my wand…. 🙂

Qu'est-ce que vous pensez?

