Allez les Bleus: In Which I Take the Little Sister to a College Football Game

Yesterday’s football game was the excuse that my family needed to visit me at school. Though my dad did not actually go here, he has been an enthusiastic fan of our football team since childhood and dedicates a larger-than-average percentage of his brain to their statistics. I had gone to at least one game every year since I was nine years old. Last year when we went after I had sent out my early-action college applications, my dad gestured to the nearby pulsing sea of maize and said, “Maybe next year you’ll be over there as a student.” When I show the security guy my M-Card and cross the student gate, I smile as I remember that prediction.

I gave Larissa an experience that I never had: the opportunity to see the game from the third row of excited students before two years before actually being a college student. Since both of us are “cheer really loudly when everyone else does” types I can’t say much about the game itself other than that our team won by the skin of our teeth. What I can say, though is that it was a great day for both of us when we sang “Hail to the Victors” more times than I could count (for those of you who don’t know, that’s Michigan‘s AWESOME fight song), screamed our heads off whenever the words “Touchdown Michigan,” flew across the screen, took pictures of the band (Larissa plays the flute in high school marching band so that part was important to her), and turned into lobsters because we forgot sunscreen.

After the game the four of us went out for dinner and I explained in more detail the events that I had texted them about since the start of the year. I communicate with Larissa every day because the idea of my sister not knowing everything that’s going on in my life is weird to me. They also informed me that, as I expected, absolutely nothing has happened in Adrian since I’ve been gone. Perhaps the strangest part of the day was the idea that when it was over my family would go home and I would go to my separate home and we would continue to go about our separate lives until the next visit. By then I hope we have a lot to tell each other.

Le match qui s’a passé hier était l’excuse de quel ma famille a eu besoin pour me visiter à l’école. Quoique mon père n’est allé pas ici, il était un fan enthousiaste de notre équipe de football depuis son enfance et réservait un grand pourcentage de son cerveau de leurs statistiques. Je suis allée d’un match à moins pour an depuis j’ai eu neuf ans. A l’année passée quand nous sommes allés après j’ai envoyé mes applications pour les universités, mon père a fait une geste vers la mer de jaune palpitant et a dit, “Peut-être à l’année prochaine tu seras là comme une étudiante.” Quand je monte mon M-Carte de la personne sécurité et traverse l’entrée pour les étudiants je souris quand je souvienne cette prédiction.

J’ai donné Larissa une expérience que je n’ai eu jamais: l’opportunité de voir le match de la troisième rangée des étudiants enthousiastes deux ans avant elle sera dans l’université. Car nous sommes deux la type de personne qui acclament avec les autres sans savoir actuellement quoi se passe, je ne peux par dire beaucoup au sujet du match avec l’exception que notre équipe gagnait par le peau de leurs dents. Mais je peux dire que c’était un bon jour pour nous chantions “Hail to the Victors” plus fois que je peux compter (pour vous qui ne sassiez pas, c’est le chanson MAGNIFIQUE de Michigan), crions comme des animaux quand les mots “Touchdown Michigan” volaient à travers de l’écran, prenions les photos de la fanfare (Larissa joue du flûte dans la fanfare au lycée, alors c’était la partie plus cool pour elle), et devinions les homards car nous avons oublié la crème solaire.

Après le match nous mangiez à un restaurant et je les donnais les détails des éventements au sujet de qui je les ai texté depuis la commencement de l’année.  Je fais les communications avec Larissa chaque jour car l’idée de ma sœur ne connaitre pas  les choses au sujet de ma vie est bizarre pour moi. Ils m’ont informé aussi que rien se passait à Adrian depuis je l’ai quitté, juste comme j’ai cru. Peut-être la partie du jour que je trouvais la plus bizarre était quand il finit, ma famille ont partie à la maison et je suis partie à ma maison et nous continuons de vivre nos vis différents jus-qu’a la prochaine visite. J’espère que nous aurions beaucoup de choses pour un dire l’autre.

One thought on “Allez les Bleus: In Which I Take the Little Sister to a College Football Game

Qu'est-ce que vous pensez?

