C’est Mon Rire: In Which I Review the 1928 Adaptation of L’homme Qui Rit

After returning from a weekend with the family for mid-term break, how did I spend my evening? Watching stuff on my laptop.  After finishing the fifth season of Doctor Who on Netflix I decided to satisfy my curiosity about the 1928 silent adaptation of my other favorite Hugo novel. (See an earlier post, Je ne ris pas: In Which I Review the Film L’homme Qui Rit if you are unfamiliar with the story). Now, after all of the things I had read online before seeing the most recent adaptation claiming that it could not possibly live up to the classic masterpiece I went in with pretty high expectations. However, I was quickly disappointed.

For starters, it doesn’t take an expert to know that silent acting relies heavily on facial expression. When the protagonist only has one facial expression to choose from, he spends most of the film moving his eyebrows.   As a result, Conrad Veidt‘s Gwynplaine made me uncomfortable when I was supposed to feel sympathetic. In other words, viewers can only see him as the masses do in the story. The only moment when I pitied this incarnation of the character who I loved so in the novel was when another performer remarked, “You’re a lucky clown because you never have to rub off your laugh,” after a performance. This simple truth quickly doomed the chances of my enjoying the film.

The characterization is further watered down by the intermittent subtitles.  Victor Hugo‘s novels are known largely for their beautiful language and certain lines that one can never forget. Some of my favorites from this particular work are, “When the multitude saw the monster, Déa, blind, saw the archangel,” “It’s the hell of the poor that makes the heaven of the rich,” “Ugly? What is that? It is to do bad. Gwynplaine does good. He is beautiful,” and “To see is something that hides the truth.” What kind of human being would reduce  this beauty to first grade level sentences? Probably the same kind of human being who read Notre Dame de Paris and thought it would make an excellent kids’ movie, but that’s a whole new can of worms.

These large faults paired with the smaller details like the fact that they referred to La Duchesse Josaine as Josiana, Homo the wolf was played by a German shepard, and that Barkilphedro’s smile was just as creepy and almost as constant as Gwynplaine’s made me decide about halfway through that I did not enjoy this film enough to continue it. Though if the creators of Batman had never watched it we would not have the Joker, I can that for most fans of the novel the 1928 version is a waste of time.

Après je suis retourné d’un weekend avec ma famille pour les vacances de mis-semestre, comment ai-je dépensé ce soir? Regarder les trucs sur mon laptop. Après j’ai fini le cinquième saison de Doctor Who sur Netflix j’ai décidé de satisfaire ma curiosité avec l’adaptation silencieuse de 1928 de mon autre roman de Hugo préféré. (Voyez une poste plus tôt, Je ne ris pas: In Which I Review the Film L’homme Qui Rit si vous ne connaissez pas l’histoire). Maintenant, après lire beaucoup d’articles avant regarder l’adaptation de 2012 qui soutiennent que ce n’est pas possible qu’il serait assez bon que la classique, j’ai eu les attentes hautes. Cependant,  j’étais déçu vitement.

Pour commencer, il ne faut pas d’être un expert pour savoir que jouer dans les films silencieuses compte beaucoup sur les expressions du visage. Quand une personnage a seulement une expression dispensable, il seulement remue ses sourcils pour la plupart du film. Du coup, le Gwynplaine de Conrad Veidt me fait gênant, pas sympathique. Dans les autres mots, l’audience peut le voir seulement comme la foule le voir dans l’histoire. Le seul moment quand j’ai pitié cet incarnation de la personnage qui j’aimait profondément dans le roman était quand un autre acteur dit, “Tu es un clown chanceux car tu ne doit pas enlever ton rire,” après une présentation. Ce fait simple a ruiné vitement mes chances d’aimer ce film.

La caractérisation est ruiné plus pas les sous-titres intermittents. Les romans de Victor Hugo sont fameux pour un grand étendu pour leur langue belle et quelques lignes qui touchent les lecteurs. Mes favorites de cet oeuvre sont, “Quand la multitude voyait le monstre, Déa, aveugle, voyait l’archange,” “C’est l’enfer des pauvres qu’est-ce fait le paradis des riches,” “Laid? Qu’est-ce que c’est? C’est faire du mal. Gwynplaine fait du bien. Il est beau,” et “Voir est une chose qui cache le vrai.” Quelle type d’être humain reduirait cette beauté aux phrases si simples? Probablement la même type de personne qui a lit Notre Dame de Paris et a pensé qu’il serait un film excellent pour les enfants, mais c’est un entièrement nouvelle chose.

Ces grandes fautes couplés avec les petits renseignements comme s’appeler la Duchesse Josiane Josiana, Homo le loup était joué par un berger allemand, et le sourire de Barkilphedro était aussi affreux et proche d’aussi constant comme le sourire de Gwynplaine m’ont fait décider à-mi-chemin que je n’aimais pas ce film. Bien que si les auteurs de Batman n’ont jamais le voit le Joker n’existait pas, je peux dire que pour la plupart des amants du roman, l’adaptation de 1928 est un perdu du temps.

Qu'est-ce que vous pensez?

