Pas le Joker: In Which Halloween was a Success

It has been a while since I have been as excited about Halloween as I was last night. Not only was I invited to a party hosted by one of my upperclassmen friends from College Democrats, but I had planned what I consider to be my best costume since that year when I was a dead clown. I used liquid latex, twisted up kleenex, lip liner, and blood gel to re-create the permanent smile of one of my favorite fictional fellas. Though most everyone thought I was the Joker, many people were impressed with how realistic my make-up job looked, including one male friend who warned me not to make out with anyone who’s allergic to latex.

I was far from the only creative costume, however. Party guests included two girls and a guy as the plastics from Mean Girls, Frida Kahlo, Diego Riviera (played by a girl), Alice from Alice in Wonderland, Dora the Explorer, two Tobiases from Arrested Development (both played by girls), Daphne from Scooby Dooh (played by a guy), and a guy in a midriff-baring cheerleader outfit to name only a few. When I returned to my dorm for the night I saw two girls as “naked SIMS” and two guys as the royal baby who may or may not have actually been British.

One final compliment came when I tweeted a picture of myself in my costume to Marc-André Grondin with the caption “I’m you!” I woke up this morning with the notification “MA_Grondin has favorited your tweet.” After this I don’t care how many times I had say, “I’m not the Joker. Have you ever heard of the book The Man Who Laughs by Victor Hugo? No? Well, I’m the protagonist from that. The Joker was based on him, though,” because the most recent actor to play the character I represented approved of my costume.

Qu'est-ce que vous pensez?

