Ça Juste a Arrivé: In Which I Speak French With a Customer at Work

It has been about a week since I started my part-time job making sandwiches and ringing up orders at Jimmy John’s. I have already served more kinds of people than I previously knew existed but hey, one can expect that in any customer service job. Today, however, was especially interesting. I noticed that customer had a vaguely French-sounding accent and, as I’m sure you can imagine, quickly became intrigued. However, I didn’t want to be rude and draw attention to the way he speaks. When he paid for his sandwich I noticed a driver’s license (at least I think that’s what it was) that said “Québec” in large blue letters. Barely taking a second to think about it, I blurted, “Tu es Québecois?” If I had thought about it more I would have used “vous” since he was a stranger who was likely old enough to be my dad but since my “Hey, you speak French? ME TOO!” conversations are usually with my peers it wasn’t at the tip of my tongue. He proceeded to explain to me, in French, that he is a musician in an orchestra based in Cleveland and is in Ann Arbor to perform at Hill Auditorium. After we ended our conversation with me saying, “Enchantée, Monsieur,” and him saying “à la prochaine,” one of my co-workers asked, “You understood all that?” Before I could give an affirmative reply, I greeted the next customer with a long “Ummmmmmmm, hi,” as I reset my brain to English. Though our conversation was not particularly long, this stranger with an interesting life made my day significantly better. It also reminded me that there is more to people than meets the eye. Though you may not have time to have a short conversation with everyone you meet, having the guts to talk to someone because of something you have in common could change the entire course of your day.

Une semaine a passé depuis j’ai commencé mon poste à temps partiel à Jimmy John’s. Je déjà servais plus de types de personnes que j’ai connais d’exister. Mais on peut attendre ça dans tout poste du service clientèle. Aujourd’hui, cependant, était particulièrement intéressante. J’ai remarqué qu’un client aurait un accent vaguement Français et, comme je suis sur qu’on peut imaginer, j’ai devient intriguée vitement. Cependant, je ne voulais pas être impoli par attirer l’attention à la façon qu’il parlait. Quand il a payé pour son sandwiche, j’ai remarqué un permis de conduire (j’ai pensé que c’était ça) avec le mot “Québec” dans les grandes lettres bleus. Sans penser, j’ai demandé “Tu es Québecois?” Si j’ai pensé plus, j’aurais utelisé “vous” mais car mes “Tu parles Français? MOI AUSSI!” conversations sont pour la plupart avec mes pairs, je ne l’ai dit pas. Il m’a expliqué, en Français, qu’il est un musicien dans une symphonie à Cleveland et est à Ann Arbor pour jouer à Hill Auditorium. Après nous avons terminé notre conversation quand j’ai dit, “Enchantée, Monsieur,” et il a dit, “à la prochaine,” ma collègue a demandé, “Tu as compris tout ça?” Avant j’ai pu dire oui, j’ai accueilli le prochaine client avec un longue “Ummmmmmmm, hi,” quand j’ai changé mon cerveau à l’Anglais. Bien que notre conversation n’était pas particulièrement longue, cet inconnu avec une vie intéressante a fait ma journée exceptionnellement mieux. Cette conversation m’a rappelé aussi que les personnes sont plus qu’on peut voir. Bien que on ne peut pas avoir le temps pour faire une conversation courte avec chaque personne, avoir le courage de parler avec quelqu’un au cause d’un intérêt commun peut changer sa journée.

4 thoughts on “Ça Juste a Arrivé: In Which I Speak French With a Customer at Work

Qu'est-ce que vous pensez?

