L’anxiété: In Which I Respond to a Prompt and end up Talking About Something Serious

Write about your strongest memory of heart-pounding belly-twisting nervousness: what caused the adrenaline? Was it justified? How did you respond?

When every day includes one pressure to succeed or another and I’m known for being unnecessarily hard on myself when I screw up, this feeling is a pretty common occurrence. This is especially true during a time such as this one when everything that happens either feels wonderful or tragic. My anxiety can arrive for a variety of reasons. Whether it’s getting ready for a date and worrying that the other person will stand me up, getting the grade back on a test that I didn’t think went so well, going somewhere I’ve never been before, or sometimes for no plausible reason at all. Once the event is over I usually find that my nervousness was not justified, but that doesn’t usually stop me from feeling that way again in the next sticky situation.  My family and some of my older friends have told me that a lot of freshmen have this problem, but that if you give it time it goes away.  I hope they’re right. In the meantime I’m trying to do better, though. At least I consider the fact that if I were dealing with all of my anxieties at the same time a year ago I would have imploded but I’m doing relatively okay right now to be a small victory.

Qu'est-ce que vous pensez?

