Vienna Attende Pour Moi: In Which I See When I’m Wrong But I Can’t Always See When I’m Right

Take a line from a song that you love or connect with. Now forget the song, and turn that line into the title or inspiration for your post.

“Though you can see when you’re wrong, you know, you can’t always see when you’re right.”-Billy Joel, “Vienna.”

If last night’s post was any indication, very few statements written by other people describe me so accurately. Though I have no problem beating myself up and finding mistakes in everything I do, I rarely realize my own accomplishments until someone else points them out.  Because people in the real world don’t shower each other with praise, sometimes I worry that this part of my personality will lead to my downfall.  In the meantime, some reflection on some times when I was right, but didn’t see it wouldn’t hurt.

I was fifteen. It was the first rehearsal with live music for the spring musical. It had been a long night of repeating scenes over and over again, sweating under the lights in layers upon layers on nineteenth century lower-class costumes. I was just an insignificant chorus girl trying to do her best. By the time it was over, I wanted nothing more than to go home and cry myself to sleep. But on the way out, the director stopped me to say, “Great job tonight, Lauren. You’re very good.” Though saying those words may have been simple to her, they made me realize that contrary to what I previously believed, my dedication had not gone unnoticed.

It was the last week of my summer job in the kitchen at a camp. I was at the end of my rope. I was coming to terms with my absolute certainty that I was inadequate and that the entire summer was a failure. “I know that I’m the weakest link,” I sighed to one of my co-workers. Though they assured me that I was not, I knew that they were just trying to be nice. I got stressed out easily. I was clumsy. I didn’t work quickly enough. You can imagine my surprise when one of the assistant directors of the camp took me to his office and congratulated me on my excellent performance as a kitchen staffer, emphasizing my work ethic and enthusiasm.

 

Qu'est-ce que vous pensez?

